Bono reveals title of next U2 album – News

Review by John Balfe,

It wasn’t just busking on Grafton Street that Sir Bono kept himself busy with over the festive period – the U2 frontman also gave a rare radio interview to occasional cohort Amanda Brunker over Christmas.

During the interview, Bono told Brunker that plans for the next U2 album were already well underway. “They’re mad for it at the moment and really want to make a new record”, he said, speaking of his bandmates . “And they don’t care if it takes 10 years, they just want to get it right.”

“Within the band we’ve been calling it 10 Reasons To Exist but I will tell you we might have at least six of them.”

The eventual album will be the band’s thirteenth record and their first since 2009’s No Line On The Horizon.

You can listen to the full interview here.

© 2013

U2 New Album Expected For 2013 And Is Sounding Quite Different Says U2 Insider, Gavin Friday – News

by TripleM Sydney

U2’s record label over in the UK, Mercury Records, has put the Irish supergroup in their release schedule for 2013.

Now we’ll just add caution that when push comes to shove, U2 are the ones who decide when they’re ready to put out a new album, not the record company, but it’s looking good for next year.

The band have been working their arses off in the studio with a number of producers including Danger Mouse and Will.I.Am, resulting in material which U2 insider Gavin Friday has described as “really very, very different”.

In an interview with RTE Radio One’s Weekend On One program in the UK just last weekend, Gavin said: “I’ve heard a bit of… Danger Mouse is producing it, so it’s quite different.”

This backs up what Bono said earlier in the year during an interview on The Late Show on Irish TV.

“We’ve had the best three weeks in the studio since 1979. I think they [the other band members] are very aware that U2 have to do something very special to have a reason to exist right now,” he said.

Of course, there have been loads of rumours about a new album to follow-up 2009’s No Line On The Horizon. In fact, U2 have gone on record saying that they had made another record called Songs Of Ascent during the No Line On The Horizon sessions.

Also, they debuted some new songs on the U2 360 Tour including “Return of the Stingray Guitar”, which was an instrumental rock track that was the opening song on the European leg in 2010 and “Glastonbury” – which they wrote shortly after the end of the 2009 U2 360 tour and planned to premiere at the Glastonbury Festival in June 2010.

U2 Release Exclusive Fan Club Double-Disc Live Album ‘U22’ – News

For any fan of U2, the new double-disc live album U22, from the record-breaking U2360° tour, is something really special. This exclusive U2 Fan Club release features 22 live tracks that were voted on by fans, all recorded during the two year, 110 show tour. What’s really unusual with this release is that the tracks selected are not just the classic U2 hits you might expect but fan favorites like ‘Bad’, ‘Ultra Violet’, ‘Moment of Surrender’ and ‘Zooropa.’

Another innovation with the release of U22 is the beautiful packaging. The 2-disc set comes in an LP-sized book of breathtaking photos from the tour, which as you probably know featured a unique looking ‘Claw’ stage set-up for 360° viewing. The book also comes with liner notes talking through the tracks written by bassist Adam Clayton.

An exclusive limited-edition release for subscribers and with a track list chosen by the fans, U22 really captures the sense of community within the U2 Fan Club. A subscription will also get you access to 11 downloads from the 22 tracks on the discs, and a 12th bonus download ‘Unknown Caller’ – as well as a range of other special online content and benefits.

Fans interested in learning more about taking out a subscription and getting a copy of this awesome package can head to

U2 On Schedule For 2013 Release – News

Pretty much since the early part of promotion for the “No Line On The Horizon” album, U2 has hinted that there’s a wealth of material that could result in multiple projects, but so far there’s been no mention of an actual release date.

However, the band’s U.K. label Mercury Records let it slip that the group is on their release schedule for 2013. The U.K.’s Music Week reported the news in a pair of tweets. The first stated, “New Metallica, U2, Arcade Fire and Noah And The Whale album coming next year, Mercury Records has confirmed.”

The second tweet added a quote for Mercury’s U.K. label chief Jason Iley, who stated, “2013 could be one of the best years Mercury’s ever had.” Iley has a long-running relationship with U2, and lured them over to Mercury after the split with Island Records several years ago.

While fans wait for a new album, they recently had a hand in picking the music for a record that’s bridging the gap. The “U22” live disc was recently issued for fan club members, with the entire track listing being chosen by fans of the band’s following and taken from material performed on the “U2 360” tour.

Fans should likely be able to forgive the band if they’ve been preoccupied in recent months. Guitarist The Edge has been mourning the death of his mother, and bassist Adam Clayton just ended a trial in which his former assistant was sentenced to jail for embezzling funds from him.

Thanks for the report to

© 2012 or its affiliates. All Rights Reserved

U2 Release Crowd-Selected ‘U22′ Live Album Via Fan Club – News


by Chad Childers,

U2 fan club members have recently begun getting the brand new ‘U22′ live albums, which they helped shape, in the mail. The group asked fans to choose their favorite tracks performed during the band’s recent U2360° tour, and the results yielded this new two-disc release, which spans their entire career.

Over a three-month period, subscribers had a chance to listen to 46 songs from the run, then select their favorite 22 to go on the record. After the songs were chosen, the band sequenced and mastered the release with their production team. Now finalized, the album will be the band’s annual one-off special edition release for subscribers of their fan club.

The U2 360 trek began in Barcelona in June 2009 and continued through a July finale last year in Canada. In all, over seven million fans in 30 countries visited the band’s 110 performances.

‘U22′ clocks in at just over two hours and fans receiving the package will also get the bonus book of photos with liner notes from bassist Adam Clayton. The set is not available in stores or online, so to get it you will need to subscribe to A track listing reveals the songs that made the cut. Check it out below.

U2, ‘U22′ Live Album Track Listing:

1. ‘Even Better Than the Real Thing’
2. ‘The Fly’
3. ‘Mysterious Ways’
4. ‘Magnificent’
5. ‘Until the End of the World’
6. ‘I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For’
7. ‘Stay (Faraway, So Close)’
8. ‘One Tree Hill’
9. ‘Beautiful Day’
10. ‘Elevation’
11. ‘Bad’
12. ‘All I Want is You / Love Rescue Me’
13. The Unforgettable Fire’
14. ‘Zooropa’
15. ‘City of Blinding Lights’
16. ‘MLK / Walk On’
17. ‘One’
18. ‘Where the Streets Have No Name’
19. ‘Ultra Violet (Light My Way)’
20. ‘With or Without You’
21. ‘Moment of Surrender’
22. ‘Out of Control’